Millet Names

13.05.24 03:54 AM By Ashwini J Rao

What are Millets called in India

In India, millet is commonly known as "Shree Anna" in Hindi and several other regional languages. It's a widely consumed cereal grain that's popular for its nutritional value and versatility in Indian cuisine.
In India, millet is known by various names depending on the region and the specific type of millet. Some common names for millet in India include:

1. Pearl Millet: Known as Bajra in Hindi, Kambhu in Tamil, Sajjalu in Telugu, Sajje in Kannada, and Kambam in Malayalam
2. Finger Millet: Known as Ragi in Hindi, Kezhvaragu in Tamil, Ragula in Telugu, Ragi in Kannada, and Panji Pullu in Malayalam
3. Foxtail Millet: Known as Kangni in Hindi, Thinai in Tamil, Navane in Kannada, Korra in Telugu and Thina in Malayalam
4. Proso Millet: Known as Barri in Hindi, Pani Varagu in Tamil, and Baragu in Kannada
5. Little Millet: Known as Kutki in Hindi, Samai in Tamil, Samalu in Telugu, Saame in Kannada, and Chama in Malayalam
6. Kodo Millet: Known as Kodon in Hindi, Varagu in Tamil, Arika in Telugu, Harka in Kannada and Koovaragu in Malayalam

These millets are important staples in many parts of India and are valued for their nutritional content and adaptability to various agro-climatic conditions.

Ashwini J Rao

Added to cart
- There was an error adding to cart. Please try again.
Quantity updated
- An error occurred. Please try again later.
Deleted from cart
- Can't delete this product from the cart at the moment. Please try again later.